Back For Good!

20119790-origpic-957fff.jpg_0_0_100_100_275_412_100 ©Ann-Sophie Back -Yokiono.com

Whether you’ve been reading my blog for a while or just happened to stumble upon it today, you can tell that I haven’t been here during the past month and I feel like you deserve some explanations.

I wanted to post something. Then I though: it’s kind of weird to just arrive with a cool post after not being there for a little more than a month. It felt like I was just shooting something out of the blue… it didn’t feel right.

You have no idea how much I’ve compared myself to big fashion bloggers and we all know how bad this is. But I mean, isn’t that what we all dream about, living from blogging and all of those opportunities that can come along? Unfortunately, it doesn’t happen as quick as we want to, which is why we tend to go and find our readers by ourselves through Facebook groups, spamming other people’s blog or Fashion communities. We read a bunch of posts telling us how to get readers and followers. In the end, all of those things won’t be what will bring you where you wanna be. It’ll only be you and your content.

After a while, I just arrived at that point where I was quite bored with writing. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I really like it. But then, I was seeing all of those people having their audience growing when mine wasn’t. I was seeing all those people posting everyday, some even a bunch of times a day. I literally brought myself down without anyone else’s help. It is kind of sad.

Which brings me to the real point of this post. If you haven’t noticed, I’ve had some pretty messed up and unorganized “articles” and I want to stop that.

Basically, I was stuck right between finding content, writing and my term. As I just wanted to know how well my blog post would do, especially when I was taking a bunch of time to write them, I was spending 2-5 hours straight, creating that one post. Didn’t bother to verify it. I just wanted to know how well it would do. And then, I was sad because I thought it could do better than what it did. I mean, after two months, I was lucky when I had 10 pageviews.

I was so focused by this envy of making a lookbook that I was scared to get out of that “Fashion zone”. That was one of the worse mistake I’ve ever made. Which is why I ended up with this lack of idea to pursue my blog and why I ended up deciding to take a bunch of different directions, multiple times. But after further reflexions, only posting outfit pictures ends up being quite plain and boring, in my opinion.

In the end, I feel like this break was just the best thing that could of happen to me. Not much has changed, but what has created that entirely different mindset that I now have and it couldn’t be better.

Disclaimer: The only intention I had, writing this post, was to explain what was happening. Just admitting to myself and to anyone who would care the cause of my absence. Please don’t take any part of it personal. What works for one may not work for the other.
Leave a Reply

